Skip to content Skip to main navigation Skip to footer
29 Sep 2021

Laikipia County

Environment and Natural Resource Governance – Focus on Laikipia

Located on the equator, Laikipia County is found in the Great Rift Valley and is among the smallest in Kenya with an area of 9,462 Km2. The county borders six counties, Meru and Nyeri to the South East, Nyandarua to the South West, Samburu to the North, Isiolo to the North East and Baringo to the west.  The county is administratively divided into five sub-counties, and 15 wards. According to the KPHC, 2009 results, the county population was 399,227 (49.8% males and 50.2% females). The Laikipia County Integrated Development Plan (2018-20122 identify the following environmental problems facing the county:

  • climate change;
  • pollution;
  • poor sanitation;
  • poor solid waste management;
  • deforestation;
  • over grazing;
  • farming in riparian lands;
  • sand harvesting and other quarrying activities; and
  • water surface run-off.

Laikipia County Documents